top of page
Search
  • Eunice

Greenwich Market and the magic line

Updated: Jul 9, 2019

After our tour, we headed to Greenwich Market using Google Maps - how fitting considering we were discussing exploration and commerce during our tour of the archives.


The market was busy. I could only imagine what it would have been like on a Saturday. I headed straight for the food market because I was hungry. I found an Ethiopian stall and purchased my meal. There is not a lot of seating at the market; however, I found a couple of picnic tables off to the side. People scooted over so I could eat my meal. Even though we are in a large city, people are so courteous. I have noticed this during my stay in London. In Vancouver, many people can't even wait for you to get off the skytrain or elevator before they come in. London is so different. People wait for you to get off the train. Move over, so you can get a seat on the community table. Hold the door open for you. It's been awesome.


Once I fueled up with my delicious lunch, I weaved my way through the stalls and stepped into the shops on the outer edges. I took a picture of a cool purse shop that uses alternative material (as opposed to leather). It was very cool. I wish my budget was huge, so I can purchase a lot more treasures. But for now, I have the picture.


We decided to make our way to the Royal Observatory The grounds were quite lovely and the rain momentarily let up, so we could smell the fresh scent of the trees and grass. The birds were singing. It was beautiful and we were laughing as we made our way up to the top.


Once you get to the observatory, you can pay an entrance fee to tour the planetarium; however, my interest was focused on the Prime Meridian. Where is this magical line from my childhood? It took us a little while to figure it out. Luckily, our professor gave us hint of a small gate one could enter and see the magical line. We found it. I had so much fun posing for the picture that even a bystander quickly snapped my photo. I'm glad he joined in on the fun.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page