top of page
Search
  • Eunice

Impacts of colonialism

Updated: Jul 9, 2019

Just before I arrived in London, I missed the opening gala at Kensington Palace. Why did this matter to me?

My aunt's poem is displayed within its walls.


I extended my stay a few days to spend time with friends and family before I headed back to Canada. I made sure to check out the exhibit. The entrance fee includes a self guided tour through the public area of the palace, including the King and Queen's quarters within the palace.


The history of the palace started with a simple decision made by King William III and Queen Mary II - to be closer to parliament at a location which suited the King's need for clean air for his lung issues. The palace started as a mansion and expanded over time. The exterior of the public portion of the palace is very plain and I found it quite refreshing.


I paid the entrance fee and noticed the sign of a free walking garden tour. I had one hour before it started, so I weaved my way through Queen Mary II's side of the building and worked my way to the Queen Victoria exhibit. After the garden tour, I went through the King's quarters.


As I walked through the exhibit, I was moved with the love Queen Victoria felt for her husband, to the point where her attire after his death reflected her deep grief. It must have been difficult. Balancing pain in one's private life while performing the duties of a Queen. It reminded me that even though royalty does not have the financial worries of common people, they still experience the pain of grief. No one can escape it.


I found my aunt's poem and included a couple of pictures of it below.


Two strong women.

Two different walks in life.

Both making their mark in the world.


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page