top of page
Search
  • Eunice

Breaking the code

Updated: Jul 9, 2019

I wish I could add the sound bite of the Morris Code to this post.


We made our way by bus to Euston Station, where we caught our train to Bletchley Park, home of the Codebreakers. It was fitting to see poppies along the side of the road, a symbol of remembrance to those who served during the wars. The first set of pictures kind of give you, the reader, clues of how to get there.


Our guide was waiting for us in the parking lot. He was excited to give us a tour of the facility. He asked if we had any questions and there was silence. One of my classmates piped up and said we would probably have a lot of questions after the tour. We all laughed. By the end of the tour, we were in a daze. So much knowledge and talent in one area. I am very grateful to the people who worked at Bletchley Park. If it were not for their dedication to breaking the German code, our lives would have been much different.


Our guided tour compromised of 2 parts - the ingenuity of the Codebreakers and the development of the computer system. My favourite tour was definitely the story of the Codebreakers. I would recommend people either watch the documentary of Bletchley Park or the movie, The Imitation Game, which I enjoyed, before making the trip. I think if I did not watch the movie, the information would have been way over my head. There is a lot of background information one should have before participating in the tour because the guides are very knowledgeable and passionate about Enigma and Colossus as well as the development of the computer system.


Our heads were jam packed with information and we vegetated in the sun until it was time to head into Bletchley Park, to see the layout of the site. But first - we had to eat. We headed for the 40s style diner for some nourishment before we zipped our way through the buildings and headed home.




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page